Home > Diet, Nutrition > 4 Hour Body Update

4 Hour Body Update

So two weeks in to my experiment with Tim Ferriss‘ Slow Carb diet and it’s time to get weighed and measured again.  This has been a good week and I am actually enjoying the foods I am eating and definitely feel better for it. I did have a bit of a blip on Thursday lunchtime when I ate a sandwich but other than that I have stuck firmly to the 5 rules.

I had my 2 glasses of red wine last night but  no other alcohol this week. Today is Cheat day – Yum! I still had a high protein breakfast but did allow myself a post run snack of cheese and Marmite on toasted crusty white bread, which was delicious.

In terms of  exercise this week I had my usual Wing Chun class on Wednesday which was primarily focussed on boxing strike drills, with a little Chi Sao at the end of class. Two runs this week a short fast 2 miler with the dog on Tuesday night and an easy pace 5 miler today.

So what are the  vital measurements then?

I have lost weight, inches and body fat this week.

An overall 3lb weight loss  –  a total of 8lb in the two weeks, just over half a stone!

A 0.6% reduction in body fat from 24.7 to 24.1 taking me to a total 1.6% loss over the two weeks!

No change in arm or leg measurements but a full inch off both waist and hips a total of 3 inches lost from the combined measurements in 2 weeks! I’m happy that I’m not losing inches from arms or legs because that would indicate muscle loss.

So I’ve seen a slight reduction this week in both weight and fat loss but an increase in inches lost, which is both visible and apparent from my clothes fitting better. I’ll take the inches!

There is obviously a margin of error for both weight and body fat measurements and without getting proper body composition testing done on a weekly basis it is hard to be sure about accuracy. Other factors to consider are water vs ft loss skewing the measurements and fat loss vs muscle gain. Still the results are pretty impressive and I am happy.

It’s time for lunch!

Stay tuned for a further update next Saturday.

  1. November 21, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Excellent work! I dropped 50 lbs with the slow carb diet myself, so I look forward to hearing more about your success.

  2. November 22, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Thanks for your kind comment. I am aiming for a total weight loss of around 40lb and this does seem so far like the right program to get those sort of results.

  3. November 22, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    You’ll be surprised how fast it goes if you stick with the plan exactly as written. Have you played with kettlebell swings any?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment